Beginner Exercises: Abdominal Muscles

You may have heard the saying “Abs are made in the kitchen,” and as I mentioned in a previous post, a balanced diet is essential to seeing results both in and outside of the gym. (Although it may be a bit of an investment, my Nutribullet is a lifesaver when it comes to creating quick healthy recipes). You must eat with the mindset that food is fuel if you want to reduce stomach fat and get that desired six pack, but there are tons of exercises you can do to help you along. A strong core, whether you have a visible six pack or not, will be beneficial when it comes to working out every other part of your body.

If you want to be satisfied for five minutes do this:

tumblr_ok1d6fmdlb1ttsiu4o1_500

But, if you want to a six pack to be proud of, keep reading.

I always do ab exercises at the end of my workout because I only do about 10-15 minutes a day, and although you can do them at the beginning, I think that by working out the rest of my body first, I am better able to engage my abdominal muscles because I have to work harder to squeeze my core when I am a little more tired.

My routine: 25 sit-ups

25 leg raises

25 sit-ups

25 side crunches (on each side)

25 sit-ups

25 scissor kicks

25 sit-ups

25 crunches

25 sit-ups

25 V-ups

25 sit-ups

25 bicycles

25 sit-ups

25 Russian twists

4 minute plank (middle, right, lift, then middle)

The sit-ups will be easy at the beginning of the workout, but trust me, you will be feeling the burn at the end of the final set!

As always, if you want to try and incorporate weight into any of these exercises, feel free to do so, but it is not necessary.

If you already do have a Nutribullet, or a similar product, check out this website for some great recipes.

Leave a Reply

