When and how often should you train?

The most important thing to remember when training is that every woman is different. We are all at different stages in our fitness journeys, our bodies respond differently to various foods and diets, and some women may be able to train their bodies at a much higher level of intensity. Deciding how often to train is a trial and error process. I like to go to the gym six times a week and I try to take the day off every Sunday, but like most young college women, my schedule varies. There are days where I find I have passed more than two hours training, but there are others where I can only fit in maybe forty-five minutes. Try to be consistent with your workouts, but do not stress if going to the gym is not an everyday occurrence. If you’re like me and working out is a much-needed stress reliever, then it may be a good idea to plan out your week ahead of time and schedule each workout. I am old-fashioned and I like to write everything down in a planner, such as this one, but the calendar application on your phone would work just as well.

You may also find that you are the type of person who needs more of a set schedule, and if so, working out at the exact same time of day every day is the best idea. Many people like to work out in the morning because it gets the gym out of the way, wakes them up, and energizes them for the rest of the day. I am not a morning person because I often stay up really late at to finish projects and write papers, so I train only in the evenings, but find what works for you and stick to it. Make sure that you are aware of the hours of the gym on campus so that you never want to work out and find it is closed!

Also, make sure to rest. Your body will not be able to build muscle and grow stronger if you do not give it time to do so. Always rest at least one or two days a week and I guarantee you will feel more energized and excited to go to the gym in the days following. Weight training is not about seeing immediate results, even though it can be frustrating not to, but results involve a lifestyle change and this will take time. In the present moment, it is important to try and alleviate as much stress as possible so that you can be focused and determined. Watch this video from one of my favorite YouTubers for a few quick de-stress tips đŸ™‚

tumblr_ol9x3gjca71uwphijo1_1280

If you haven’t already, check out my post on why women should weight train!

 

Leave a Reply

